Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin - Zentrum für Transdisziplinäre Geschlechterstudien

Governing Bodies of the Center


In keeping with the ZtG’s transdisciplinary structure, all of the Center’s governing bodies are comprised of members from across the disciplines. Foundational decisions about the Center's affairs are made by the Center Council. The Center Council elects a chair or chairs from among the professors who are members of the ZtG. The chair(s) serve as the managing director(s) of the ZtG. The Center Council is further advised by the General Commission and special working groups. The General Commission, which is comprised of representatives from across the disciplines, advises the Center Council on issues relating to the gender studies degree programs. In addition, Working Groups are regularly formed to develop and discuss projects planned at the ZtG.

Dates in winter semester 2023/24

General Comission and Center Council:

  • 30.10.23 6:00 pm
  • 17.11.23 6:00 pm 
  • 22.01.24 6:00 pm 

Invitations will be send to members directly. 



The ZtG's Council passes resolutions regarding the Center's structure and operations, including filling posts, adopting the budget, and approving teaching positions. ZtG Council meetings are open to the public. Decisions are usually reached by consensus. All members of the Center are welcome to take part. Information can be obtained from our team. 



  • Beate Binder  (Faculty of Language, Literature and Humanities – Institute of Romance Studies)
  • Martina Bengert (Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences - Institute for Asian and African Studies)
  • Brigitta Kuster (Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences - Institute for Cultural Studies)
  • Ulrike Vedder-Porath (Faculty of Language, Literature and Humanities – Institute for German Literature)


1. Christine Wimbauer (Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences - Institute for Social Sciences)
2. Claudia Derichs (Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences - Institute for Asian and African Studies)
3. Christine Gerber (Faculty of Theology)
4. Jeannette Windheuser (Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences - Institute for Education Studies)


  • Kerstin Palm (Faculty of Arts and Humanities - Institute for History)


1. Julia Teschlade (Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences - Institute for Social Sciences)
2. Anna Carnap (Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences - Institute for Education Studies)
3. Simone Kreutz (Faculty of Law)





  • Gabriele Jähnert (ZtG)



  • Prof. Dr. Beate Binder
  • Prof. Dr. Sandra Jasper
  • Prof. Dr. Kerstin Palm
  • Prof. Dr. Ulrike Vedder


Women's Representative at ZtG

  • Jacqueline Franke



General Commission

The General Commission determines the future of the gender studies program at HU. The Commission discusses all aspects of the gender studies program, from its organization to its structure.
Members of the General Commission are elected by the faculty or department councils of the disciplines participating in the gender studies degree programs. Currently, the members of the General Commission are:


Faculty of Law

  • Prof. Dr. Ulrike Lembke


Agricultural and Life Sciences

  • Prof. Dr. Christine Bauhardt (Gender & Globalization)
  • Merle Büter (Gender & Globalization)


Faculty of Philosophy

  • Prof. Dr. Beate Binder (European Ethnology)
  • Prof. Dr. Urmila Goel (European Ethnology)
  • Prof. Dr. Silvy Chakkalakal (European Ethnology)
  • Prof. Dr. Xenia von Tippelskirch (History)
  • Prof. Dr. Kerstin Palm (History)
  • Prof. Dr. Mirjam Müller (Philosophy)


Faculty of Language and Literature

  • Prof. Dr. Ulrike Vedder (German Literature)
  • Dr. Kira Jürjens (German Literature)
  • Janin Afken (German Literature)
  • Prof. Dr. Elahe Haschemi Yekani (English/American Studies)
  • Prof. Dr. Eva Boesenberg (English/American Studies)
  • Prof. Dr. Eveline Kilian (English/American Studies)
  • Prof. Dr. Martina Bengert (Romance Studies)


Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences

  • Prof. Dr. Sandra Jasper (Geography)


Faculty of Theology

  • Prof. Dr. Christine Gerber


Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

  • Dr. Pepetual Mforbe Chiangong (Asian and African Studies)
  • Prof. Dr. Claudia Derichs (Asian and African Studies)
  • PD Dr. Andrea Fleschenberg (Asian and African Studies)
  • Prof. Dr. Brigitta Kuster (Cultural Studies)
  • Prof. Dr. Claudia Bruns (Cultural Studies)
  • Yumin Li, M.A. (Cultural Studies)
  • Prof. Dr. Christine Wimbauer (Social Sciences)
  • Dr. Lena Schürmann (Social Sciences)
  • Prof. Dr. Zerrin Salikutluk (Social Sciences)
  • Dr. Gabriele Jähnert (ZtG)
  • Sarah Dornhof (ZtG)


Student Council

  • Caroline Enge
  • Michèle Riedelsheimer
  • André Solf
  • Sarusch Kiehne



  • Gerhild Pinkvoss-Müller (Theology)
  • Sara Binay (Berlin Institute for Islamic Theology)



Working Groups

Various working groups support the Center Council and the General Commission. These groups are established by the Center Council and are made up of teaching staff, tenured professors, and young researchers and students from various disciplines who have years of experience working in gender studies in all.


The following working groups are currently active:

  • Teaching and Studying (chair: Prof. Kerstin Palm)
  • Public Relations
  • Various other working groups preparing scholarly events, such as conferences